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MKTG / BADM 3661
Question Book
Note: Please write your answers on the “Answer Book” and submit your completed assignment to HuskyCT by 11:59 pm on April 8, Monday (i.e., the “Answer Book” and Excel documents that shows your work in Excel).
Part I: Key Metrics of Web Data
Bill recently launched a website for his local coffee store. Bill would like to understand the performance of his website, but he is not familiar with the metrics used in web analytics.
Bill tells you that there are 100 unique visitors who view his website today. Moreover, Bill tells you that among the 100 visitors who view his website, 28 of them click the product item link. Among these 28 visitors (who click the link), 3 of them spend more than 1 minute on the product page, and 1 of them eventually purchase our products.
A) True or False (you only need to answer true or false to each of the following statement, no explanation is required):
1. There must be exactly 100 people who view Bill’s website today.
2. The click-through rate is 100/28 = 0.28 for Bill’s website today.
3. The conversion rate is 28/2 = 0.07 for Bill’s website today.
Part II: Dayparting
Shining2010 is a micro-entrepreneurship that sells health care products. It uses TV and/or mobile devices ads to promote its products and would like to develop its dayparting strategy.
Shining2010 used both TV and mobiles ads to promote its products for 70 days and collected the associated viewership data (in the Excel document “data2.xlsx”)
A) Short answer question (you need to show your work to get full credits, please include your Excel worksheets in your submission)
4. The marketing research team of Shining2010 asks you to help them analyze the viewership data and develop the dayparting strategy in the following card. What is your answer?
Note: If you can use the available information to provide media recommendation, then your answer needs to include your regression model, your regression results, and your conclusions. Otherwise, your answer needs to explain why you cannot use the available information to provide media recommendation.
Possible media options: TV, mobile devices, both TV and mobile devices |
|
Dayparting Strategy |
|
Time of a day |
Media |
6 am – 6 pm |
? |
6 pm – 6am (next day) |
? |
Part III: Web Analytics & Paid Search
Group Alex and Group Marc are two teams that sell gardening items. Both teams employed the paid search services since the first day of 2020. Both teams provide you with their store website data as follows
Group Alex |
|||||
|
Organic Clicks |
Paid Clicks |
CPC |
Conversion Rate |
Revenue per Sale |
No paid search |
1357 |
0 |
$0.16 |
2.70% |
$8 |
With paid search |
561 |
1714 |
$0.16 |
2.77% |
$8 |
|
|||||
Group Marc |
|||||
|
Organic Clicks |
Paid Clicks |
CPC |
Conversion Rate |
Revenue per Sale |
No paid search |
1184 |
0 |
$0.16 |
2.87% |
$8 |
With paid search |
970 |
727 |
$0.16 |
2.95% |
$8 |
A) True or False (you only need to answer true or false to each of the following statement, no explanation is required):
5. Group Alex receives more total clicks after employing the paid search services.
6. Group Alex receives more profits after employing the paid search services.
7. Group Marc receives more total clicks after employing the paid search services.
8. Group Marc receives more profits after employing the paid search services.
B) Short answer question (you need to show your work to get full credits, please include your Excel worksheets in your submission)
9. Suppose another team, Group Coby, is thinking about launching a paid search campaign to advertise its gardening products. The manager of Group Coby asks you “Does an increase in the total number of clicks resulting from using paid search services always lead to a corresponding increase in profits?” Based on the data from Group Alex and Group Marc, what is your answer?
Note: If your answer is “YES,” you should explain why an increase in the total number of clicks resulting from using paid search services always leads to a corresponding increase in profits. If your answer is “NO,” you should explain why an increase in the total number of clicks resulting from using paid search services is not always associated with a corresponding increase in profits.
Part IV: Quality Score and Actual CPC
Sophia is an intern trainee on a research team at the digital division of WeFun2021, a company that sells digital products. The research team needs her help prepare a scatter plot (with line) that illustrates how the company’s actual pay per click varies with the website’s quality score on Google.
Sophia knows that there are four competitors with which WeFun2021 competes for pay ads slots on SERP at Google. Sophia learns the max bid and quality score for each of these four competitors as well as the max bid for WeFun2021. The following table presents this information.